News & Events

An Update on Lymphatic Anomalies: Classification and Treatment Options, with Denise Adams, MD

An Update on Lymphatic Anomalies: Classification and Treatment Options, with Denise Adams, MD

Join LE&RN on Tuesday, October 10, 2017, at 12pm EDT (11am CDT, 10am MDT, 9am PDT) for a free Livestream presentation, "An Update on Lymphatic Anomalies: Classification and Treatment Options," presented by Denise Adams, MD. To attend, simply visit the previous link on the day of the event. If you would like to participate in the Q&A at the end of the program, you must be signed in on Livestream.

Denise M. Adams, MD, has been an academic Pediatric Hematologist-Oncologist for just over twenty years. She received her Bachelor’s and Medical degrees from Georgetown University in Washington D. C.  After completing her Pediatric Residency Training at the University of Vermont, she was a Pediatric Hematology-Oncology Fellow at Duke University. She was a faculty member at Duke University and the University of Vermont prior to moving to Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center for 13 years where she became the Medical Director of the Hemangioma and Vascular Malformation Center and was the Director of the Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Fellowship Program.   She  moved to Boston Children’s Hospital in February of 2016 to be one of the Co-Directors of the Vascular Anomalies Center (VAC).   She is actively involved in clinical and translational research in the field of vascular anomalies.    She is on the scientific committee of the International Society for the Study of Vascular Anomalies (ISSVA) and is a member of several patient and family advisory boards related to vascular anomalies and well as a member of the National Cancer Institute- PDQ.  She has obtained funding through the FDA for the study of sirolimus for the treatment of vascular anomalies and is pursuing other medical therapies for these rare disorders.    She is actively involved in teaching medical students, residents and fellow trainees and it committed to mentorship. She has been honored to receive several awards for her teaching and mentorship.    In addition, she reviews manuscripts for several journals related to hematology/oncology, vascular anomalies and vascular biology. She has authored  numerous publications, and has been an invited speaker both nationally and internationally on the subject of vascular anomalies.   She has served on several committees both locally, nationally and internationally.  Her main emphasis has been in serving the American Society of Pediatric Hematology-Oncology (ASPHO).


LE&RN Symposiums are made possible by Supporting Members and Corporate SponsorsBecome a Supporting Member today.