News & Events

Free Livestream Symposium: “Lymph Flow and How it Regulates Lymphatic Function”

Free Livestream Symposium: “Lymph Flow and How it Regulates Lymphatic Function”

Join LE&RN on Wednesday, January 8, at 1pm EST (12pm CST, 11am MST, 10am PST), for a free Livestream Symposium, "Lymph Flow and How it Regulates Lymphatic Function" with Dr. Joshua Scallan.

About Dr. Joshua Scallan
Dr. Joshua Scallan is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Molecular Pharmacology and Physiology in the Morsani College of Medicine at the University of South Florida. His laboratory investigates how fluid forces regulate the growth of lymphatic valves and the integrity of lymphatic vessels. The hypothesis driving research in the Scallan lab is that lymphedema is caused by degenerating lymphatic valves and leaky lymphatic vessels. Dr. Scallan pioneered a method enabling quantitative assessment of lymphatic vessel permeability, an emerging area of interest in lymphatic biology research. He earned his Ph.D. at the University of Missouri at Columbia under Dr. Virginia Huxley before completing postdoctoral fellowships at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital and the University of Missouri. Dr. Scallan’s research is funded by the National Institutes of Health and he is a recipient of the competitive NIH K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award.