News & Events

Free Livestream Symposium presented by Zorina Galis, Ph.D.

Free Livestream Symposium presented by Zorina Galis, Ph.D.

Join LE&RN for this free Livestream Symposium, "Navigating the NIH landscape in search of opportunities for extramural research: funding, resources, collaborations, advice," presented by Zorina Galis, Ph.D., on Wednesday, December 18, at 1pm EST (12pm CST, 11am MST, 10am PST).

About Dr. Zorina Galis

Zorina S. Galis, Ph.D., Chief, Vascular Biology and Hypertension Branch, National Heart Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI), National Institutes of Health (NIH), is a recognized life science thought leader, innovator, highly cited researcher, mentor, and a popular science educator. She was trained in physics, biophysics, cell biology, pathology, and vascular medicine at the University of Bucharest, Romania, the McGill School of Medicine, Montreal, Canada, and the Harvard School of Medicine, Boston, USA. Zorina then gained experience in three environments: academic medicine, as a tenured professor of Medicine/Cardiology and Biomedical Engineering, then as a pharmaceutical industry executive, and currently in the government, leading since 2011 the NIH support of extramural basic, translational, and clinical research in the vascular and hypertension areas. Throughout her career, Zorina used her transdisciplinary experience to bring together and lead successful diverse teams tackling major scientific and implementation challenges. She is mostly recognized for her pioneering work in unraveling the molecular bases of acute cardiovascular conditions directly leading to the development of new diagnostic and therapeutic interventions for heart attacks and stroke. At NIH Zorina has championed the creation and gathered support for several large interdisciplinary initiatives, including the NHLBI Vascular Interventions/Innovations and Therapeutic Advances (VITA) Program accelerating development of biomedical products (devices, diagnostics, and drugs), and the new NIH Common Fund Human BioMolecular Atlas Program (HuBMAP), designed to provide to the global community the foundation for creating a multiscale, multidimensional Google-like map of the human body, recently recognized with an NIH Director Award.