News & Events

Livestream Symposium: The Genetic Basis of Primary LE in Humans, Current State of the Science

Join LE&RN for this livestreamed Symposium, "The Genetic Basis of Primary LE in Humans, Current State of the Science," with Dr. Peter Mortimer. You can watch it above, here on LE&RN's website, or on Youtube. It will be followed by a live Q&A. The Symposium will begin on Monday, May 22, at 10am Eastern Daylight Time. (3pm GMT, 9am CDT, 8am MDT, 7am PDT).

Professor Peter Mortimer trained in Dermatology in Sheffield and Oxford. He was appointed 'Physician to the Skin Department' at St George's and consultant skin physician to the Royal Marsden Hospital since 1986 and has been Professor of Dermatological Medicine to the University of London since 2000. Interest in lymphatics began in Oxford where he undertook his thesis on 'the measurement of skin lymph flow'. Current research is focused on breast cancer related lymphoedema, the genetic basis of primary lymphoedema and lipoedema as well as melanoma spread by lymphatics. He has over 240 publications cited on PubMed. He has been Chief Investigator on research programme grants from The Wellcome Trust, British Heart Foundation and Cancer Research UK. His clinical practice deals almost entirely with chronic oedema, lymphoedema, lymphatic malformations, lymph-related disorders and lipoedema. He is a founder of both the Lymphoedema Support Network and British Lymphology Society and appointed the first Clinical Training Fellow in Lymphovascular Medicine in the UK.


The event is free and is only possible because of LE&RN's Partners and Supporting Members. Become a Supporting Member today.