News & Events

Online Symposium: An Overview of the Current State of Lymphatic Research

Online Symposium: An Overview of the Current State of Lymphatic Research

Echoe Bouta is a biomedical engineer focused on understanding the role of the lymphatic system in multiple disease states and determining the therapeutic potential of targeting lymphatics. She started her research career as an undergraduate student on a project testing potential lymphedema treatments. Her PhD thesis work at University of Rochester focused on elucidating the role of lymphatics in inflammatory arthritis in an effort to develop lymphatic-targeting therapies. Keeping with this research theme, her current project as a research fellow at Massachusetts General Hospital focuses on understanding the relationship between adipose tissue, lymphatic capability, and immune function to catalyze more effective therapies for lipedema. The goal of this research is to provide critical knowledge about the etiology of lipedema and test potential therapies targeting lymphatic function.

Dr. Bouta will present "An Overview of the Current State of Lymphatic Research" in an online Symposium on June 16 at 11am EDT (8am PDT, 9am MDT, 10am CDT). Join us on our Livestream event page.